Day 42: Leapin Lizards

April 26, 2009 § 2 Comments

Lizard embossed heels with severity to spare

Lizard embossed heels with severity to spare

These might be my eldest pair of shoes. They’ve stuck around in the closet for several years…possibly because I haven’t worn them much and feel they never got their fair share (or I got my money’s worth)? In any case, these soft teal lizard-embossed high heels from BCBGirls require significantly more work in putting together an outfit. The teal color looks odd with most shades of blue denim, my near-daily uniform. Additionally I will again raise the question of toe cleavage and the way they’re cut; I’m not convinced it’s flattering. I originally bought them for an outfit with grey-ish jeans which seemed more successful, at least colorwise. Since then they’ve mostly been spotted at night, in a bar, party or restaurant and on rare occasion. Should I go ahead and change that rare occasion to never?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2004

Circumstances: These are definite ‘occasion shoes’…purchased for a specific event and specific outfit. This time it was MY high school reunion. (see Day 6 of the challenge) I’m still close with several of my high school friends and decided to make the trip back home for the event. Having improved quite a bit, well, in all areas, I set out to find a fabulous and flattering outfit to wear. It turned into an all-out quest. You would have thought I was on Amazing Race or seeking the Holy Grail with the determination I put into this search. I secured new makeup from  Dior,  jeans from Club Monaco, amazing necklace, and a tweed blazer from Nordstrom and obviously, needed shoes. Aiding in the hunt was Lori, my work shopper-in-crime. We found these, also at Nordstrom by BCBG, and knew they were perfect…great color, texture, height and shape. Most importantly, I arrived feeling fabulous and walking a little taller.

Compliment Meter:2. Bethany, blog co-creator is a fan as was one of the guys in my group. I’m not convinced and they did not garner much attention due to the fact they only lasted until lunch. See ‘Comfort’ below. Shoe confidence level: Low.

Comfort: You’d think after several years they would be well broken in. Not so. Very high heels and the sides cut into the sides of my feet. Had to change shoes after lunch. Overall, a 5 out of 10.

Worn with: Yellow with blue stripe ruffle-neck oxford from J.Crew, sleeves rolled, wide leg Seven jeans. Prep and proud.

Thoughts: “My customer is someone who dresses from the feet up. Everything else comes after.”~Shoe designer Charlotte Dellal

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 42: Leapin Lizards

  • Annette Hunt says:

    My first thought when I saw these shoes was- LOVE these! Can’t decide if these or the red flats are my favorites so far. Maybe consider them with a khaki or tan outfit, if you have such an outfit, for a punch of color?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 42: Leapin Lizards at PAIR DIEM.

meta

