Day 41: No Place Like Home

April 24, 2009 § 3 Comments

Flats the color of my grandma's favorite lipstick

Flats the color of my grandma's favorite lipstick

Fire engine, candy apple, slick glossy lipstick, ‘so shiny I can almost touch up my makeup in them,’…red patent flats. This pair is surprisingly from Jessica Simpson, purveyor of sky-high platforms and, oh let’s just say it, over-the-top flashiness. These sweet flats are quite the contradiction. I needed some punch to my outfit today but couldn’t handle heels as I was going to be location scouting for a photoshoot most of the day. These provided just enough of a dose of color to keep me from feeling and looking rather drab. I like the idea of every girl owning a pair of red shoes, but they must be the right pair. Do I hang on to these ruby slippers, or send them back to Oz?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: I purchased these at Dillards one evening. I was at the mall by myself for an unknown reason or purpose. I snaked in and around the tables of the shoe department, successfully avoiding suction-cup like salespeople and strollers. I remember trying these on and even then being surprised at the brand. Another young lady came to the shoe department, with her mother and sister I think, and tried on the same pair in black. I tried not to be too conspicuous as I inspected the alternate colorway on her feet. It’s helpful to see a pair of shoes on another shopper in another outfit, it broadens your shopping perspective in my opinion. The black were cute on her but I fell for the red…a little punch of color never hurts.

Compliment Meter: 3. Positive remarks although not as many as when they were first purchased, I distinctly remember their popularity when first purchased. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: They have a rubber sole and small wood heel which are both quite comfortable. However, as is often the case with ballet flats, the vamp rubs the front side of my feet. At the end of the working day my feet are red and they are ready to come off.. Overall, a 7.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Grey and white striped ruffle front blouse from J. Crew, cuffed skinny ankle jeans, navy cardi for in the office. Once again….addicted to navy, white and grey and here with a touch of red.

Thoughts: “When in doubt, wear red” ~Bill Blass

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Day 41: No Place Like Home

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 41: No Place Like Home at PAIR DIEM.

meta

