Day 36: Exotic Toes

April 17, 2009 § Leave a comment

Summer Slingbacks in Faux Crock and Linen

Summer Slingbacks in Faux Crock and Linen

Another shining example of the variety of textures hidden in my closet. These strappy slingbacks are a shiny, not quite to the point of being patent, faux croc with a linen fabric footbed. I’m partial to the croc texture in brown particularly, as you’ve already seen, and I enjoy the way the straps wrap over the front platform of the shoe. They are actually Isaac Mizrahi for Target, and are surprisingly not uncomfortable. I didn’t even need my trusty gel inserts. I think the combination of textures is interesting, but I’m not completely convinced about the super shiny factor on the straps. Does it make them look cheap? A couple of other girls around the office actually own this same pair and I tend to like them better when I see them on someone else’s feet than on mine, so they don’t see the light of day much. I maybe wear them a handful of times in the summer. Am I justifiably skeptical? Or are they as good on my feet as on anyone else’s? You tell me.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: I don’t fully recall the story surrounding these shoes. I was at Target, clearly, and when I’m at Target I do make a point to do a drive-by of the shoe aisles. I quite often try on several pairs while my cart full of cat food, paper towels, $5 movies and wrapping paper waits patiently by. I remember trying these on and liking the shape and color combination while simultaneously questioning the shiny fabrication. I succumbed, tossed them in the cart and probably got distracted by  the ‘as seen on TV aisle.’ Just a guess.

Compliment Meter: 2. Again, not many comments, but positive ones in general. No one absolutely loving them. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Fairly good. Slight heel strap slippage on one foot, but not terrible. Easy to walk in, does rub the outside of one foot after a few hours. Overall, a 6.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Grey v-neck track tee from American Apparel, wide leg light-weight jeans, multicolored scarf. Casual, easy, eclectic.

Thoughts: “Even if I’m traveling for a weekend, I take 20 pairs of shoes.” ~Rachel Zoe, Stylist

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 36: Exotic Toes at PAIR DIEM.

meta

