Day 35: Barely Bitten

April 16, 2009 § 2 Comments

Suede Slingbacks in Snakeskin....Venemous?

Suede Slingbacks in Snakeskin....Venemous?

Another day, another need for snakeskin heels. Really. I’ve relied on these mid-heel sling backs for a couple of years now, as my Spring/Summer shoe that truly goes with just about anything. The suede, snakeskin embossed/printed textured straps sit atop a slim wood stacked heel. Because of their modest 2.5” heel, they are not only walkable, but do the trick when, after a certain amount of time, my jeans inevitably shrink a tad in length. Even hanging dry, they all, inevitably, eventually, shrink. Terribly annoying. I’ve worn them with jeans, skirts, trousers, dresses and even shorts. The color makes them universally wearable, even with florals and other prints. My motto has truly become, ‘when in doubt, wear snakeskin or grey.’ Should they stay a protected species in the wilds of my wardrobe, or become extinct?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: I was shopping at DSW at lunch one day. I don’t recall if I was searching for something specific or just wanted to see what was new, but  DSW is only 10 minutes from my office and can easily be done in under my allotted hour (well, more or less). Sometimes I use it as an excuse to justget out of my cubicle and I got walk amidst rows and rows of shoes. Admittedly, I find it quite enjoyable even if I leave without a purchase. Ah, retail therapy. I remember finding these shoes, by Enzo Angiolini. I even remember what aisle they were on…yes I’m that odd. I loved the snakeskin pattern and the comfort was an added bonus. They also came in black but there was no competition, the snakes killed the competition.

Compliment Meter: 3. Favorable responses, just not many of them. Their neutrality being their highest praised quality. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Comfortable heel height, no rubbing, no slipping. Lovely. Overall, a 8.5 out of 10.

Worn with: Grey short sleeve button-up camp shirt with white polka dots (thanks to the shopping excursion in Boulder this weekend!), dark wash wide leg denim trousers, slim snakeskin belt. Spring has sprung!

Thoughts: “Fashion can be bought.  Style one must possess.”  ~Edna Woolman Chase

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 35: Barely Bitten

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 35: Barely Bitten at PAIR DIEM.

meta

