Day 34: Kickin’ in Grey

April 13, 2009 § Leave a comment

Grey kicks...for kickin' it

Grey kicks...for kickin' it

Everyone needs kicks. I get my kicks fom my grey urban kicks by Asics. They may be further proof that I will buy just about any shoe in grey, to which I might not object. I love these sneaks, especially the all-grey soles and grey shoelaces. I haven’t worn these to work, and won’t, but wear them for any activity that is not quite working out, but requires more traction than my ballet flats can handle. Additionally, they are my weekly hip hop dance class shoes. Tip: if you’re a white girl like me trying to break it down in a hip hop class, you must have appropriate kicks, and these definitely improve my dancing…or at least my dancing style.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Winter 2008/9

Circumstances: It was a beautiful sunny day and I was browsing around Mockingbird Station, a local outdoor shopping and eating destination. I wandered into the maze that is Urban Outfitters and wandered amongst the college students and uber cool sales people. My eye for grey was caught by these kicks. I was looking for a new pair of urban sneaks and these were cute with a little pop of color without looking like I was trying to relive the 80s with neon yellow and pink. I did that once, not doing it again. The best part, I picked them up for less than $20.

Compliment Meter: 3. Positive response from several girlfriends, and from Bethany who was brave enough to try out the hip hop class. Luckily we avoided the ‘free drink’ moves… Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Pretty darn comfortable. Not a ton of support, but for hip hop and other low-impact stuff, they’re great. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Jeans and a 3/4 sleeve fitted tee, for some weekend missions activities. Cropped sweats, tank (and a bit of attitude) for hip hop class.

Thoughts: “That’s my road test: Can I dance in them?” ~Rachel Zoe, stylist

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 34: Kickin’ in Grey at PAIR DIEM.

meta

