Day 33: Chocolate Croco

April 8, 2009 § 4 Comments

Croc-tastic?

Croc-tastic?

After several recent flats posts, it’s back to high heels for me. Here, a pair of faux (natch) croc platform heels. I really enjoy the croc texture in chocolate brown. I also like the almond pointy toe and the platform in the front helps them to feel a little less high. However, I barely ever wear these shoes. Why? Maybe I’m unconvinced about the cut and heel shape. Maybe it’s because these are notoriously (at least to me) uncomfortable…the risk you take when buying shoes online. Either way, without the gel inserts they would have been almost unbearable. They made it past lunch, until around 3pm before my feet had had enough and I changed shoes (which is allowed according to the the rules of the challenge). Do they have enough bite to make it past your vote?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: I was browsing around online looking to see who had what goodies on sale. I don’t recall how I found these but I do remember searching high and low for brown heels…something I’ve realized has happened more than once in my shoe lifetime. In any case, I found these and took a chance on them because of the great color and the bargain-basement price. The risk you run with buying online, either with clothes or with shoes, is fit. As much as I liked the way they looked at the time, it was undeniable…comfort was not their strong point. But sometimes, that’s ok.

Compliment Meter: 2. Not a lot of comments today, possibly because I took them off by 3pm due to pain. Someone did mention they were ‘slenderizing’, never a bad thing. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: As mentioned, they are almost unwearable without the gel inserts, unless I am sitting or only plan to wear them for 3 hours or less.In some circumstances, that’s fine, but for a full work day, however… problematic. Overall, a 4 out of 10.

Worn with: Boatneck long sleeve cream sweater with thin gray stripes and buttons up the cuffs, khaki pencil skirt. Preppy secretary, maybe.

Thoughts: “My mum told me always to wear heels. If I’m not wearing heels, she says, ‘What? You’re in flats?’ So whenever I see her, I make sure I have heels with me.”~Julia Restoin-Roitfeld, daughter of French Vogue editor Carine Roitfeld

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 4 Responses to Day 33: Chocolate Croco

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 33: Chocolate Croco at PAIR DIEM.

meta

