Day 31: High Shoe, High Shine

April 7, 2009 § 3 Comments

Wedges in slick black patent

Wedges in slick black patent

The last few days of cool weather popping up now and again in Dallas luckily giving me a few more occasions to finish off my Fall/Winter shoes. I love wedge shoes and these are strikingly high and shiny patent. I consider them as elegant as a pump, but with an edge. They’re from Nine West and have a padded footbed and almond toe. Because they are a lot of patent and a lot of heel, close to 4″, I generally have worn them in the evening, not as much to work. They look good with both my dark skinnies and add some interest to a basic LBD. The question is, are they wonderfully worthy of a shoe-holic’s wardrobe?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Early Spring 2008

Circumstances: I have a thing for wedges. On this particular shopping day, I was in Northpark Mall and  wandered into Nine West. I don’t believe I was shopping for a particular shoe pair that day but that has never really stopped me from looking. They had these patent wedges in both black and a pretty pale pinkish blush color. The blush color was very feminine and soft, but I’m always wary of wearing anything too pale…flesh colored shoes are not really a good look. That decided it, and the black came to wardrobe.

Compliment Meter: 3. Positive responses. Most liked the whole wedge being wrapped in the patent. A mild architectural feel. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: The padded footbed helps immensely. I have never figured out why more shoe manufacturers don’t use padded footbeds on all heels. Because of their height they do rub the top of my foot after several hours…but honestly, I barely ever wear them for several hours. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: My favorite super wide leg, high waist black trousers, royal blue knit 3/4 sleeve top with scoop back and multi bangle bracelets..

Thoughts: “No matter what you wear, you’ll always be well dressed if you have beautiful shoes.”Jimmy Choo president Tamara Mellon

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 3 Responses to Day 31: High Shoe, High Shine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 31: High Shoe, High Shine at PAIR DIEM.

meta

