Day 30: Tom Tom Club

April 6, 2009 § 8 Comments

My ninja prison shoes...all for a good cause

My ninja prison shoes...all for a good cause

Some days you just need a little help to get through the day: the end of a crazy long week, maybe a little beat down, and the thought of wearing high heels doesn’t sound remotely appealing. You really just want to wear the equivalent of a hug to work. It’s days like this I’m grateful my office is a casual environment. So casual, I can sport my orange suede Toms with my comforting wide leg jeans. Yes, jeans can be comforting. If you aren’t familiar with Toms, you must check them out here. Such a great cause, and I think they’re in the ‘so homely they’re cute’ category. Kind of like pugs…or Grandma’s Christmas sweater…or sweatshirt.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns–noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2009

Circumstances: The last pair of shoes I purchased before starting the pair diem challenge. Let the record show, I have not purhcased a pair since starting this blog…and that’s saying something for me. A coworker, Laura, has an adorable pair of Toms in khaki corduroy and she inspired me to consider adding a pair to my closet. I found these in orange suede at Tobi, an online retailer I have become a fan of. Orange is a rare color in my closet, but put almost any color in suede on a shoes and it automatically becomes more wearable. An unexplained fashion phenomena.

Compliment Meter: 2. Laura obviously was a fan, as was Bethany. However, with Toms it became obvious people either love or hate them. Most of the males thought they looked like ninja shoes, and agreed with my youngest sister, Em, who wins quote of the day: (from an ichat session with her…please notice the all caps) “NO, THOSE ARE UGLY. REALLY UGLY. NOT SO UGLY THEY’RE CUTE, JUST U.G.L.Y. THEY LOOK LIKE PRISON SHOES.” Love the honesty. Nothing like family. Shoe confidence level: Level.

Comfort: Ridiculously comfortable…truly like a walking on clouds. Lovely. Overall, a 10 out of 10.

Worn with: The aforementioned lightweight wideleg jeans, grey knit v-neck top with a twisted construction, cream and brown thin striped scarf. Casually comfortable.

Thoughts: “For every pair you purchase, TOMS will give a pair of shoes to a child in need. One for one.” ~TOMS Shoes

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?  

§ 8 Responses to Day 30: Tom Tom Club

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 30: Tom Tom Club at PAIR DIEM.

meta

