Day 29: Ode to Audrey

April 3, 2009 § Leave a comment

black-flats11

Classic black flats in suede

Any time a woman can channel one of the Hepburns, especially Audrey, she should attempt to do so. I adore my very classic, basic and Audrey-esque suede black flats from J.Crew. They have black piping, a flattering cut (yes shoes can have flattering and unflattering cuts) and a gold leather interior that makes them wildly comfortable. I wear them all the time and maybe it’s all in my head, but they have the ability to make me feel slightly cuter…in an Audrey cute sort of way. Do I hang on to them for my next Roman Holiday? Or am I just wishing they were as classic as one of the Hepburns? You make the call.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: I snatched these up at the end of the season sale from J.Crew last Spring. I knew I needed a new pair of flats and these in suede would come in handy come Fall. I debated between the chocolate brown and the black and established that the need for black was greater…and that I wouldn’t be wearing as much brown suede in Fall 08, replacing it with black, navy and gray. I fluctuate between those colors as my choices for a dark wardrobe base. I happily took them home and they waited patiently in my closet until early Fall when I wore them with abandon.

Compliment Meter: 3. Positive responses, especially on the cut and the gold leather interior. So what if no one else sees it…I know it’s there. Bethany, my Pair Diem partner and photographer, said I reminded her of Audrey. God love her. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Very comfortable once they were broken in a bit. No complaints, I honestly wish I owned them in yellow. Or gray. OK, both. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Sleeveless trapeze top with a painterly/ikat pattern, grey flowy cardi, skinny jeans.

Thoughts: “Wow, three pairs of shoes! Someone had a fetish.” ~Marge Simpson

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 29: Ode to Audrey at PAIR DIEM.

meta

