Day 28: Perfect Flattery

April 2, 2009 § Leave a comment

Snakeskin Flats, Casual and Classic?

Snakeskin Flats, Casual and Classic?

Another example of my fondness for flats. I truly believe it is impossible to have too many pairs of flats, although no replacement for a killer pair of heels, they are indispensable to a complete shoe wardrobe. These brown snakeskin embossed ballet flats by Steven by Steve Madden have served me well. It has always seemed finding brown shoes, particularly flats, to be challenging. Most have multi colors, are a strange shade of brown or have too many embellishments, and sometimes you just want a pair of classic flats. I was lucky enough to find these in the perfect chocolate brown, a classic shape and the snakeskin makes them just a touch more interesting and grown-up. They are a little stretched out and you can tell they were well loved; too well, possibly? Is it time to retire them? You make the call.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: I purchased this pair during the same shopping excursion to  Nordstrom where I purchased Day 19’s All Aboard Boots. As I mentioned, I was having a difficult time finding brown shoes and was in need of flats and boots for my Fall wardrobe. During Nordstrom’s fabulous sale I found not one but 2 pair of brown shoes and surprisingly they are both by Steven by Steve Madden. This pair was a return, the sales person told me, and the store didn’t carry them regularly. They just so happened to be in my size. It’s those moments you know certain purchases are just meant to be.

Compliment Meter: 2. Not much feedback, but a generally positive response. Bethany, my Pair Diem partner and photographer, is particularly a fan. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: The leather has stretched with wear and so are a little loose all around. They have lovely leather interiors that are buttery soft and flats are always a welcome respite from my heels. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Soft green short-sleeved cowl neck top, grey cardi, Hudson Jeans bootcuts. Casual chic.

Thoughts: “I am attracted to people who make an effort in knowing what suits them – they are individual and stylish.” ~Vivienne Westwood

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 28: Perfect Flattery at PAIR DIEM.

meta

