Day 27: Gathered Together

April 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

Pleated and Gathered

Pleated and Gathered

A slightly complex pair for today with a pleated and gathered front from Enzo Angiolini. They are an odd very pale pink color, almost to the point of being beige but not quite, with a brown heel and brown thin contrasting strip that runs in and out of the pink leather. I like the interest this creates and it reminds me of a skirt. Actually I’d like to have a skirt similar to the front of these shoes…and how often can one say that? This is most likely the third or maybe fourth time I’ve ever worn these shoes. I can’t say for certain, but the pale pink color doesn’t help. The point is, if I’ve only worn them 3 times in as many years, do they deserve to stay around? Maybe they need to be resurrected… maybe left to the graveyard.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007, possibly Fall 2006

Circumstances: This shoe purchase is foggy, I think do to the fact that not only was it a while ago but also that because I haven’t worn these shoes I have not thought about them. I know I purchased them at a department store, possibly Macys or Dillards and most likely on sale. I don’t think I was completely convinced about them but did like the details. Well details only get you so far, and these haven’t been out of the closet in quite some time.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive responses. Most observers just noted the interesting front and color. Comment of the day, ‘They’re not as ugly as I thought’ by F.E., after trying to describe the shoes to him. Thanks. Shoe confidence level: Medium.

Comfort: Here’s where they break down. It is possible they were never broken in, as we know all heels must go through, however they were not comfortable. The ball-of-the-foot inserts made them bearable, but my feet took a slight beating. My heel slipped out of the back and the front rubbed the outside of my foot. If they are worth it, I can break them in and make due, but as of now, if I had had an extra pair of shoes at the office, these would have been banished by lunchtime. Overall, a 5 out of 10.

Worn with: Brown long-sleeved cowl neck from Anthropologie (I’m a little addicted to their knits), pale gold skinny belt, wide leg jeans.

Thoughts: “Shoes are the first adult machines we are given to master.” ~Nicholson Baker

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 27: Gathered Together at PAIR DIEM.

meta

