Day 24: Dazzling Darlings

March 27, 2009 § 1 Comment

Textured pumps with a little sass on the toe

Textured pumps with a little sass on the toe

Sometimes you just need a little something sassy, a little something special. An oversized cocktail ring, intricately beaded clutch or a feather brooch, perhaps. In my case, a pair of fabulous beige snake-textured pumps with beaded adornment. The iridescent bugle beads form a flower and leaves and reflect a beautiful array of jewel tones in greens and purples. I forgot how much I like these heels since it’s been quite sometime since I’ve pulled them out. Because they are a bit more of a statement, I shied away from wearing them too often and became just another pair in my mountain of shoes. But now I want to wear them more often, I love love love the cut of  the shoe! The perfect amount of round in the toe, great vamp and side cut, perfect heel. Feminine, delicate and fabulous in my opinion. What about yours?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: I was shopping at Northpark mall and decided to make a lap through Banana Republic, not looking for anything in particular. I loitered in the shoe area, hoping to find something cute enough to try on, at least just for kicks. Spotting the beaded detail on these pumps my eyes grew a little wider… I asked for them in my size and was floored to find out they were on sale, for nearly 70% off! It wasn’t even late in the season! Cute, sassy and comfortable….and mine.

Compliment Meter: 6. Maybe the most compliments garnered thus far. Even my friends who have seen them before ooh-ed over their cuteness. Made me fall in love with them all over again.  Funniest comment of the day, courtesy of Bethany, “It’s like you’ve got brooches on your toes!” Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: Quite comfortable, nicely broken in.  Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Black/cream short-sleeved zebra crewneck sweater from J.Crew, khaki pencil skirt. Being that I work in a casual office and I mostly wear denim, one coworker seeing my pencil skirt told me I looked like a teacher…“A well-dressed one, though.”

Thoughts: “Not diamonds but heels are a girl’s best friend.”  ~William Rossi

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ One Response to Day 24: Dazzling Darlings

  • Lori M says:

    I would like to comment that I absolutely LOVE these shoes! This picture does not do them justice, to show off the beautiful colors in the bead detail. My only negative comment is to say that I spent all day in disappointment that these beauties are no longer available for ME to purchase! Kudos to the designer at BR! These look amazing!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 24: Dazzling Darlings at PAIR DIEM.

meta

