Day 23: Singing in the Rain

March 26, 2009 § 2 Comments

The return of jellies...but they're waterproof!

The return of jellies...but they're waterproof!

I wonder if you experienced a trend the first time around, should you dare repeat it when it cycles back into fashion? My gut says no. I was firmly against having any jelly accessory in my closet, having flashbacks of elementary school and the hot, uncomfortable, bird-cage like translucent pink jellies I wore. I even had to convince a few (adult) coworkers not to purchase those exact shoes…you know who you are… And yet I have these. Another pair of ballet flats, in plastic…and yes they’re waterproof. The weather was supposed to include torrential downpours so instead of rainboots, I chose these. Not much protection, but at least they won’t get damaged and dry quickly. And I do think the front cutouts and faux bow are cute. They even have little holes in the instep as vents. Or rain gutters. Either way. Does the fashion match the function? You tell me.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: Again, I am a broken record: ’I was shopping at DSW one weekend…’ and yes I was in the clearance section just seeing what was available. Crazy grandma sandals here, tacky metallics there, a few noteworthy pairs  in the bunch. When I saw these bye Steve Madden (they are a Marc Jacobs, um, imitation), I immediately questioned the material. The cut was cute and they were comfortable, but the material? Are they just silly? I know several high end designers used the plastic/jelly material in their spring shoes and being waterproof, are quite practical. I’m all in favor of making practical more cute and wearable. And who doesn’t need another pair of ballet flats?

Compliment Meter: 2. Generally positive responses. I did get a little bit of a hard time from the aforementioned coworkers who wanted to purchase some other jellies when I wore these to work, but I think the opacity and color definitely helps these.  Shoe confidence level: Even.

Comfort: Quite comfortable, albeit without a lot of support.  Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Navy/white striped short sleeved blouson top, skinny jeans, black scarf.

Thoughts: “If you aren’t comfortable in an outfit from the very beginning, you never will be. Don’t persuade yourself.” ~Georgina Chapman, Designer of Marchesa

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 23: Singing in the Rain

  • Annette Hunt says:

    Would totally covet these if I didn’t have my rubber flats from Kate Spade- and for the same reason. They’re great rainy day shoes that I don’t have to worry about ruining.

  • Rebecca says:

    I think I’m in the minority but these are not my faves… maybe it is the picture but they make your feet look really long!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 23: Singing in the Rain at PAIR DIEM.

meta

