Day 22: Gray Gardens

March 25, 2009 § 3 Comments

Grey suede *sigh* with the happiest yellow stitching

Gray suede *sigh* with the happiest yellow stitching

According to Christian Dior, gray is the most convenient, useful and elegant neutral color. Oh how I agree. Here’s another example of gray footwear from my wardrobe. By Kenzo, they have a high, slightly inverted chunky heel, yellow stitching and tab across the peep toe. Like the snakeskin heels from Day 20 they are one of my ‘go-to’ pairs that I wear with a variety of outfits: jeans, trousers, knit dresses, pencil skirts. I am particularly partial to wearing them with my wide leg jeans (seen here) and the yellow stitching adds an interesting contrast. I am sad to see them put in the back of the closet. The question is, are you?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: Here’s an original start to the story…’I was shopping at DSW one weekend…’ So I’ve realized I do shop there. Often. What can I say, I find great shoes there, like these from Kenzo. I was grazing through the clearance section and naturally, anything gray catches my eye. But grey with yellow stitching? Hold on. Gray Suede? Peep toe? I’m sorry…? By Kenzo? Wait for it… for 85% OFF?? Be still my heart. Oh it was a banner day at DSW …the other pairs found on that trip will have their own story and their own day so I won’t spoil it. But wow, it was a little bit of shoe heaven.

Compliment Meter: 4. Positive responses. They’re interestingly different, although I think some might not love the chunk heel. Like I said, they’re one of my go-to pairs. Shoe confidence level: High.

Comfort: I’ve worn these a lot and the only complaint is that they’ve stretched now slip off my heels. The gel inserts certainly help. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Wide leg Dojo Seven jeans (I’ve realized I wear wide legs 75% of my days!), heather grey silk sweater/T-shirt with yellow silk appliqué from JCrew,  navy cropped ruffle front cardi.

Thoughts: …it is safe to say taht whatever your favorite color is, you can safely wear it with gray.”~Christian Dior from The Little Dictionary of Fashion

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard

§ 3 Responses to Day 22: Gray Gardens

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 22: Gray Gardens at PAIR DIEM.

meta

