Day 21: Sweet and Low

March 24, 2009 § 3 Comments

Beige Ballets with Bows

Beige Ballets with Bows

Part of me always wanted to be a ballet dancer. Such elegance, grace and simplicity…and in cute shoes to boot. (murder on the feet of course, but who hasn’t suffered for shoes?!) This pair channels my inner ballerina. They’re a basic ballet flat by Cole Haan with stitched edges and bows at the front with tiny metal tassles. There are a few scuffs on the toes. Maybe I was trying some ballet…it’s possible. My feet had a severe heel hangover, and I pulled these out for some relief. The neutral color goes with a lot, but I honestly don’t wear them very often. Are they too close to my skin tone? Too sweet? Too much like a six year old’s shoe? You be the judge.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2007

Circumstances: I am a pushover for ballet flats. You’ve only seen a couple of pairs but there are many more to come. These were picked up when I was shopping one day on my lunch hour. Impossible, you might think, but no. My office is within a few miles of several shopping possibilities. There was a mall on the road to be demolished (for another mall, of course) and the stores were all closing. I had heard the shoe sales were fierce at Dillards, a regional department store. Off I went to do some research. My sources were correct! All the shoes were at least 75% off, a ridiculous sale. I got these for an absolute steal, along with 2 other pairs and proudly brought them back to the office to share the find.

Compliment Meter: 2. Positive response, just not many of them. They are basic and neutral and harmless. Bethany did comment that I looked like I wanted to do ballet. She might have been right..

Comfort: Flats are such a cure-all. These gave my feet a needed rest from my heels. The only complaint is that they stretched a bit and now slip off my heels. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Faded, lived in, “so comfortable I could sleep in them” jeans from Citizens of  Humanity, pink oxford with blue and white stripes, sleeves rolled. Pearl earrings. Uber prep.

Thoughts: About half my designs are controlled fantasy, 15 percent are total madness and the rest are bread-and-butter designs.”~Manolo Blahnik

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 3 Responses to Day 21: Sweet and Low

  • Rebecca says:

    Ok… slightly flesh toned but not too creepy 🙂 I think they are adorable… it’s a split vote so I had to throw in a good word

    • pairdiem says:

      Thanks for the comment…this pair is one of several OTF that need a few more votes! We’ll see how it turns out…

  • Paula Crisp says:

    I’m a sucker for nude color and ballet flats, and these are both… I kind of like it when the shoes are very close to your skin tone.. I may be wrong… but I think it’s a good look…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 21: Sweet and Low at PAIR DIEM.

meta

