Day 20: Into the Wild

March 20, 2009 § Leave a comment

Snakeskin Heels...Fierce or Venomous

Snakeskin Heels...Fierce or Venomous

There are a few pairs of shoes I own that just make me feel better. The innate power to make my shoe confidence level higher, an outfit more interesting, my step a tad jauntier and my day a bit better. These are one of them. Like the black flat boots I tried to wait to wear them as long as possible because they are a definite default shoe in the rotation. If I’m not sure what shoe to wear, I  just wear the snakes. The taupe and brown pattern makes them a great neutral but more interesting than a solid shoe, and reptile prints are very of the moment. They have curved sides and actually have a criss-cross on the back of the heel that resembles lacing. Very feminine. So are they fierce enough to hold on to? You be the judge!

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2008

Circumstances: Every season I make a ‘must have’ list of shoes and clothes. This year on my shoes list: black riding boots, brown flat boots, shooties, to name a few…and these, snakeskin heels. I had a difficult time finding a good snakeskin pattern that wasn’t too purple-ish, too contrasting, too shiny or too busy. But I was determined and hunted them down. I was meeting a few girlfriends at Northpark mall, possibly for a movie, I can’t quite recall. They had been there shopping all day and on my way to meet them I stopped into Nine West. They called out to me. I tried them on and scrutinized them. Is the curvy side interesting or do I want them to be more classic? Is the criss-cross lacing on the back silly? Unnecessary? Hmmm. I called for backup but the girls were busy. After a few laps around and around the small store, I decided they might just fill the snakeskin void in my closet. Purchased. And they became a rotation regular shortly thereafter. I love my snakes.

Compliment Meter: 4. Positive responses all around, reinforcing the ‘they make me feel better’ quality. Shoe confidence level: High. The funniest comment of the day once again is awarded to Keri. I’m going to keep her on retainer for her comic wit: “They’re like biscuits and gravy….comfort food for your feet.”

Comfort: The 3″ heel is very walkable. The curved sides do rub my feet by the end of the day, so they have an expiration of about 6 or so hours. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Plum 3/4 sleeve knit top with ruffle front, chocolate straight cords, gold belt and my new favorite accessory: gold bamboo bangle from Anthropologie with an Americana scnene inlay. I’ll post a pic!

Thoughts: “The fact is, sometimes it’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes. That’s why we need really special ones now and then to make the walk a little more fun.” ~ Carrie Bradshaw, SITC

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 20: Into the Wild at PAIR DIEM.

meta

