Day 19: All Aboard Boots

March 20, 2009 § 1 Comment

Got a little Captain in ye?

Got a little Captain in ye?

Tall brown leather boots, wood stacked heel, cuffed, slightly slouchy.  I love the leather of these boots, slightly grainy and soft. They’re a bit slouchy without being too much so, and I like being able to just pull them on. I’ve worn them with skinnies, dresses and skirts and they’ve got a casual almost boho vibe about them. Sometimes I’m not sure how much to comment on what I think of the shoes I’m posting because I don’t want to taint your opinion on what you see. But, I’ve got to be honest, right? So the issue is this: do I look like a pirate? Should I be wearing a white puffy shirt and sword fighting with the three musketeers? Or Jack Sparrow? Should I be on a Captain Morgan commercial? Whenever I wear these, I feel 80% confident they’re fierce and a nagging 20% that I could be in costume. Weigh in, send me your comments and be honest. I know you will!

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: Shopping excursion to Northpark mall with co-worker Lori. Shopping partner in crime. It was Nordstrom’s half-yearly anniversary sale and an absolute zoo at the mall. People in Dallas don’t mess around when it comes to this sale! We ventured into the shoe department chaos. Racks and racks of shoes, customers everywhere, sales people running around like mad. We weaved in and out of the makeshift aisles, trying not to trip on the shoes left strewn about. We each picked up at least 5 pairs to try on. For my annual boot hunt I was in the market for brown heeled boots. The beauty of sales is the immense joy I get when finding a pair in my size amidst the rabble. The thrill of the find! Such were these boots…the only pair, in my size, tall brown boots, Steven by Steve Madden. I barely had to try them on to make up my mind. The only issue, the nearly 4″ heel with a non-padded front footbed…but hey, that’s what inserts are for right?

Compliment Meter: 2. Generally positive responses…until I asked, ‘Yeah, but do I look like a pirate?’ People then would chuckle and say, ‘well….a little. But I like them.’ A coworker, Myron, immediately upon seeing them posed like Captain Morgan…hands on hips,  one foot off the ground. Noted. Thanks Myron.

Comfort: The 4″ heel is a bit intense, especially for work because of all the running around I do. My calves definitely get a workout, but the gel inserts help. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Berry knit dress, brown belt at waist, navy cardi.

Thoughts: “Fashion is architecture: it is a matter of proportions.” ~ Coco Chanel

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ One Response to Day 19: All Aboard Boots

  • Rebecca says:

    well…. a little pirate isn’t that bad…. seriously, i understand the draw of these boots. I love them!!! but don’t wear them with any ruffles and don’t ask the question if they make you look like a pirate

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 19: All Aboard Boots at PAIR DIEM.

meta

