Day 18: Giddyup Gal

March 19, 2009 § 2 Comments

Quintessential riding boots. Are they?

Quintessential riding boots. Are they?

These boots make me wish I was surrounded by lush green grass, tall trees, beautiful horses and people clad in jodhpurs, button downs and smart blazers lunching on the lawn…

Back to reality…I’m sitting in my cubicle. But I am wearing one of my go-to shoes of the season, my black flat boots. I tried to put off wearing these as long as possible in the pair diem challenge, knowing I can’t repeat them. It’s going to be tough! They’re one of my ‘when in doubt’ accessories that I know I can throw on in a pinch. I was on an all-out mission this  year to find flat black riding-inspired boots and settled on these by Ralph Lauren. You can’t get much more classic than RL and I love the harness/buckle detail on the ankle. Are they too safe, though? A bit too old? Should they be a bit rounder in the toe, wider at the top? Give me your thoughts, as I retire these, for now….in the back of the closet. Sigh.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2008

Circumstances: I was shopping at DSW. Again. With AB and friends. Again. We were all on a Sunday shoe afternoon excursion. Part of my Fall shoe mission was flat boots, black and brown. For the black I wanted riding boots. I had already searched high and low and found nothing to-die for. Well I did, but they were Chloé…and sadly out of my price range. So I was looking for an alternative. DSW had rows and rows of boots and I perused every single one. I found these and had that ‘ah-HA’ moment when what you are looking for hits you in the face. I grabbed them and also a pair by Michael Kors. The MK were more western-inspired with a taller stacked heel and pointier toe. I was torn. Enlisting the input of my friends, we decided these would be more classic and versatile. Success, marked off the list of Fall must-haves.

Compliment Meter: 3. Positive responses, especially from those that know I’m a bit attached to them. The gents tended to say things like, “where’s the horse?” and “kind of like riding boots and motorcycle boots too.” Not surprisingly.

Comfort: Lovely. I could, and did wear them all day and into the evening without a hint of pain. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Worn with: White oxford with black/grey pinstripes, white collar and bib, skinny jeans. Collar: popped. Yes, I’m that preppy.

Thoughts: “At the end of the day, it has to look effortless, even when it’s not.” ~Heidi Klum

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 18: Giddyup Gal

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 18: Giddyup Gal at PAIR DIEM.

meta

