Day: 17 Shiny and Nude

March 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

Nude Patent Peep Toe Pump...say that 5 times fast

Nude Patent Peep Toe Pump...say that 5 times fast

Today’s pair: feminine, a bit retro and oh so versatile. As you have noticed or will notice I am a bit of a sucker for peep toe shoes. I love these because of the slight 40s vibe and, of course, the color! There are few things more versatile in accessories than nude heels. They go with everything, and when paired with a skirt or dress, really elongate the leg…who doesn’t want that?? These are a shiny patent with a v-shaped peep toe and a slight inverted cone heel. Last year after seeing nude heels all over mags and celebs and then on my fashionably fabulous friend Karla, I was hooked. Do they do the trick or is in the buff blazé these days?

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2008

Circumstances: I was shopping at DSW with AB, another severe shoe addict and fashion hunting friend. We weren’t looking for anything in particular, just a normal shoe browsing day. Starting in the clearance section, then faithfully up and down: Every. Single. Aisle. Just to make sure we don’t miss anything, of course. I spotted these which immediately struck my ‘I want nude heels’ chord. They not only came in nude but in 2 shades of nude! And then we realized they also came in a delightful poppy red and robin’s egg blue. Oh the choices!! We tried on every color, comparing, contrasting, walking around, a different color on each foot. I decided I must have the nude color, AB the poppy red. But the robin’s egg blue was just adorable…and calling my name. Truth be told, I went home with both pairs. I wore them around my house a bit and as I reality-checked myself, realized the nude were really what I preferred and the blue, though cute, could be passed up or waited on. They went back to DSW, the nude’s enterd my shoe rotation.

Compliment Meter: 4. Equally positive responses from the ladies and gents today, a rather rare thing. Funniest comment of the day, once again goes to Keri: “It’s hard to say peep-toe….not peep show”

Comfort: Fairly good, especially with my gel ‘ball of the foot’ insert. I’ve realized I cannot live without them! Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Floral (yellows, white, khaki) graphic print 3/4 sleeve silk blouse, wide leg jeans by Seven. Simple. The blouse was enough.

Thoughts: “A woman with good shoes is never ugly.” ~Coco Chanel

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day: 17 Shiny and Nude at PAIR DIEM.

meta

