Day 14: Thank You For Being A Friend

March 12, 2009 § 2 Comments

Grandma C would be so proud

Grandma C would be so proud

Travel down the road and back again…Your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidaaant….

Yes, the Golden Girls theme song and now it’s most likely stuck in your head. Why? Because that’s what I call these: my ‘thank you for being a friend’ shoes. They’re metallic moccasins…with a furry lining. Sorta old-lady-in-a-retirement-community-wearing a floral sweatshirt-and-house-shoe shoes. And I love them. I haven’t totally embrace the Pocahontas moccasin craze that’s been happening this fall and winter; these are as close as I’m going to get. They’re a little more ‘preppy driving shoe’ to me than moccasin which is why I like them. I even like the matte metallic gold, it’s an unexpected twist on these casual flats and I absolutely wear the heck out of them with jeans on the weekends. It’s going to be hard not to repeat these, but with the furry lining, I knew I had to wear them soon. Another perk of this pair is they remind me of my late Grandma C (Grandma Carpeaux). She had a love for fabulous accessories and would always buy us cute little outfits and such on any outing. In her later years she couldn’t be found without her metallic house shoes, normally ballet flats or slippers, with her matching sweatsuit. Probably in pink. So I know that she is looking down from heaven not only smiling at the fact that one of her five granddaughters has a blog devoted entirely to shoes, but that I own a pair of metallic flats of my own.

The question becomes, are they too ‘Golden Girls’ for me? Should I leave these to Bea Arthur and her mumus? You be the judge…

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: December 2008

Circumstances: Another great sisterly story…it happens when you have four of them. I was home in DC visiting family over Christmas this past year and my two younger sisters, Kat and Em, and Em’s hubby Brad, decided to do a little shopping in Georgetown. We hopped on the metro from their NE place and headed to M. It was cold, but I always enjoy the streets of Georgetown especially at Christmas. We stopped in a few stores, a paper boutique (I love paperies!), and I decided to brave the Steve Madden store….something I don’t do lightly or often. I rarely find anything I like there, it’s usually crazy and the loud dance music is a bit much. But I really wanted to try these on after seeing them on my friend AB. Yes, we own 50% of the same items in our closet. My sisters said I was crazy to go in there and they’d meet me afterward, so in I went. I was focused, found the shoes, found my size, proceeded to the counter and took advantage of an extra 25% off and came out unscathed. Totally worth braving the jungle.

Compliment Meter: 3. A few compliments. Most people just enjoy that I only refer to them as my ‘thank you for being a friend’ shoes. They’re a great casual standby. Shoe confidence level: high.

Comfort: Not much support, but the fur lining is fantastic. An 8 out of 10 so long as I don’t have to walk for miles and miles.

Worn with: Seven jeans, cuffed. Teal scoop-neck sweater with gathered neck. Gold cuff from Anthro that I’m also obsessed with…gold bamboo bangle with an Americana scene enamel inlay.

Thoughts: “Know, first, who you are; and then adorn yourself accordingly.”  ~Epictetus

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 14: Thank You For Being A Friend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 14: Thank You For Being A Friend at PAIR DIEM.

meta

