Day 13: Polka Pumps

March 11, 2009 § 7 Comments

A Dose of Cuteness for the Feet

A Dose of Cuteness for the Feet

Today’s pair define cute and girly. On the front they’ve got a tortoise buckle that cinches navy fabric with tiny cream polka dots. Round-toed, cone-heeled girlyness. I do like their sassy secretary vibe and could definitely see them with a fitted pencil skirt. Maybe even knee length shorts. The heel isn’t too high which makes them walkable. Although I will say I have realized without the gel sole inserts, I wouldn’t wear half of my shoes…there’s never enough padding at the front. These, with the inserts, do the job nicely with jeans or skirts. Now, are they just too cutesy? I don’t want to look like I’m still in college. Do they make me look like Minnie Mouse? Your thoughts, please.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: December 2008

Circumstances: I make it a habit to frequent the resales shops here in Dallas. One thing Dallas women love to do is shop…and therefore there are a plethora of good resale shops around. One of my easy go-tos is Buffalo Exchange. They focus on vintage and quirky casual clothes. I had taken a trip to Buffalo on a Saturday with a few bags of clothes and shoes to sell back. (yes I even had more shoes than will make an appearance on this blog…if I had known I was going to do this, I might have kept some) As the staff dug through my discards, I poured over the racks of new and gently used merchandise and headed to the dressing room with my standard 3-6 pieces. A darling red/orange vintage dress was too ‘flight attendant,’ unfortunately but I did find a great navy and brown pinstriped Club Monaco button-down. I headed to the shoes and spotted these. Never worn, my size, cute. I wore them around the store as I shopped and one of the sales people commented how cute they looked with my jeans. She was right, I decided, and they came home with me. I sold back unwanted clothes, donated the rest, scored a blouse and a pair of shoes, and had cash left over. Done and done.

Compliment Meter: 4. A few compliments. But those who did comment on them had very strong opinions. Bethany, co-founder of pair diem said these might be her most favorite pair. That’s some high praise! These shoes also just make me feel cuter. Shoe confidence level: high.

Comfort: Well without the gel inserts, a 5, with the inserts an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Hudson bootcuts (addicted to Hudsons. Really.) white tank, navy cape cardigan sweater. Might be my fav current purchase. It’s half cardigan with short sleeves, half cape, all cute. From Anthropologie.

Thoughts: “Relationships with people – with your mom, your nan, your dog – are what you get the most happiness in life from. Apart from shoes and bags.” -Amy Winehouse

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 7 Responses to Day 13: Polka Pumps

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 13: Polka Pumps at PAIR DIEM.

meta

