Day 12: Be-Tassled Boots

March 10, 2009 § 2 Comments

Pointy-Toe, Tassled-Front, Thin-Heeled, Mid-calf, Bi-Level Boots. Yes, in one pair

Pointy-Toe, Tassled-Front, Thin-Heeled, Mid-calf, Bi-Level Boots. Yes, in one pair

I know, let’s put tassles on boots and see what happens! Well dear readers, this is what happens. I think my inner prep was drawn to their magical tassles and top stitching that resembles a loafer. Sort of. Really these boots were pretty fabulous…when I bought them 4 or so years ago. They’ve been in the closet ever since but after that first year, have not seen much daylight. So why keep them? It’s a good and fair question. I think I’ve always found them interesting, and was convinced the super-pointy toe would return eventually. When I realized they would have to make a public appearance on the blog for all to see, I did what I could only do: wear them with jeans. And to be fair, they look pretty decent under my long wide-leg jeans (see foot on the right). But for full disclosure I knew I must show the full boot for you to be able to truly assess their fate. My photographer did have have a bit of a laugh, honestly. All I know is, they’ve been worn and will not be repeated for several days, at the very least, and I’m pretty happy about that. Maybe they’re not as odd as I think they are? Read below and cast your vote.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2005/6? Date cannot be confirmed.

Circumstances: This is one of the only pairs I have without a solid memory or circumstance attached to them. I know it was the middle of the ‘very pointy boot’ era and they were one of my yearly boot purchases. I was looking for brown and for some reason really like the mid-calf silhouette. They are from Nine West, but where I bought them…is a mystery.

Compliment Meter: 2. A couple of sincere compliments, but several, “No, I like them. They’re….interesting” and “They’re just ‘jeans’ boots is all” comments which are most likely someone trying to spare my feelings. My shoe confidence level was clearly low…as I opted to wear them with jeans instead of a skirt so I wouldn’t have to sport the mid-calf look all day.

Comfort: Pretty snug in the toes, not happy about that. But nice calf support. HA. Overall, a 5 out of 10.

Worn with: Wide brown distressed belt over a soft green silk sleeveless pleated yolk blouse and wide leg jeans. Thankfully.

Thoughts: “Women usually love what they buy, yet hate two-thirds of what is in their closets.” ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 12: Be-Tassled Boots

  • Tiffany says:

    I don’t recall these from the move! Where were they hiding? I think that shoeless children suffering from natural disasters just got a little richer :)…he,he,he

  • pairdiem says:

    oh they were there, alright! I’ve definitely had to drag a few pairs out of hybernation. Hopefully these well fetch some good $$ for the charity!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 12: Be-Tassled Boots at PAIR DIEM.

meta

