Day 11: Heels are the New Black

March 9, 2009 § 2 Comments

Black Heels Pt 2

Black Heels Pt 2

Black heels appearance no.2. There is something about a great pair of simple, sleek, black high heels that makes one feel just a bit more fierce. It helped that today I was wearing them with my ‘make me feel extra thin and a mile tall’ black pants. I think I need to wear them more often. I actually bought these to replace another pair of black heels (to be seen another day) as my staple black heels…but ended up keeping both. Maybe I shouldn’t have, you will be the judge…

I dress fairly casual for work, as is the norm in our office, but today I attended a presentation at the Vogel Alcove, a childcare center for the homeless here in Dallas, a great organization. Check it out. vogelalcove.org

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2008

Circumstances: As part of my job, I art direct photoshoots. I worked on a shoot last summer for a fall campaign using a model and thoroughly enjoyed working with our stylist Aubrey on her wardrobe. One of the pair of shoes Aubrey purchased for her were these simple heels from Nine West. I liked they way they looked and the fact that they were a bit shiny, but not patent and would contrast to the matte black heels I already owned. I was also looking to replace another pair of black heels I have (mentioned above, to be seen later) so off I went to Nine West. Well not only did I like the finish, the straight heel and pointy, but not scarily-so toe, they were on sale. Yes, I am a lucky girl. So they came home with me…and I still kept the other black heels. Stay tuned.

Compliment Meter: 4. Classic heels, solid confirming head nods from the girls in the office who now daily check out my footwear.

Comfort: They pinch when I first put them on, but get more comfortable after a few minutes. Or maybe I go numb. Whatever. Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Cream/Black patterned silk ruffle neck Victoria  blouse (JCrew), black unstoppable pants. Pink skinny belt. Green Merino cardi in the chilly office.

Thoughts: “I still have my feet on the ground. I just wear better shoes.”—Oprah Winfrey

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 2 Responses to Day 11: Heels are the New Black

  • Paula Crisp says:

    You know, I like 9 West… they make a pretty good shoe and aren’t crazy expensive. They sort of do knock offs… I have a pair with a red sole a la Christian Louboutin… they sort of capture the essence of some of the much more expensive brands…

    • pairdiem says:

      I completely agree. I know a stylist who often shops there because, ‘they make the best expensive knock-offs.’

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 11: Heels are the New Black at PAIR DIEM.

meta

