Day 9: These are a few of my favorite things

March 6, 2009 § 1 Comment

Suede, Patent, Grey...what more could you want?

Suede, Patent, Grey...what more could you want?

There exist a few colors I naturally gravitate towards….navy, green and as is shown in today’s shoes….grey. It’s a perfect neutral and I’m a little addicted to it. OK really addicted to it. I love grey with just about anything. Grey + pop of color…delicious. This particular pair is heavenly. Yes heavenly. Suede, patent and grey, all in one glorious shoe… I could probably build almost every outfit around them. Love, addiction, whatever, I’m fully committed to grey. Bethany, my coworker and originator of the pair diem challenge, realized one day I had an addiction to grey when she asked, “Just how many pairs of grey shoes do you own??” Well let’s just say the answer is more than one. You’ll have to stay tuned to find out how many.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: February 2009, Shoe Binge Day

Circumstances: This is one pair, of the four, yes four pairs I purchased on Shoe Binge Day (the shooties from Day 3 were also from this outing)…just before the pair diem challenged commenced and just before the start of Lent. I have given up shopping for Lent so my ‘fat Tuesday’ so to speak was a little shoe shopping before the fast. Well I found such insane deals that day I ended up with four pairs. I know, I know, intervention needed? Possibly. This one pair I got at a killer 80% off at DSW and is one of my new favorite brands, Modern Vintage. I actually bought a knock off of these same shoes about 2 months ago and returned them, too uncomfortable. So when I spotted theses on sale, my love affair with grey was cemented even further. For the record, my good friend AB has the exact same pair. We both have good taste, what can I say.

Compliment Meter: 5. Very solid response. Shoe confidence level…high.

Comfort: Still needs to be broken in, but very good overall. The heel is shy of 3″ which makes them very walkable. Overall, an 7 out of 10 which should increase after more wear.

Worn with: Empire waist, ruffle front grey pinstripe blouse from J. Crew, wide leg jeans and skinny yellow lizard belt. ‘that thin strip of non-functional leather worn ’round your waist’ as one commented.

Thoughts: Shoes first, figure out the rest later.” –Shoe designer Charlotte Dellal, creator of the Charlotte Olympia shoe line

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ One Response to Day 9: These are a few of my favorite things

  • AB says:

    DUHHHHH we have good taste. I am absolutely obsessed with these shoes. I am CONVINCED they could be worn in any circumstance…I think, no, I’m pretty certain, that I love grey more than black. And I’m okay with that (“d’ya know”…) hahaaha. Oh good times.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 9: These are a few of my favorite things at PAIR DIEM.

meta

