Day 8: Suede Boots

March 5, 2009 § Leave a comment

Brown Wedge Suede Boots

Brown Wedge Suede Boots

Boots and dress day! I love boots. Have I said that already?

One major challenge of this shoe endeavor is trying to wear all my boots and very ‘winter’ shoes as Spring decends upon Dallas. Yesterday it was 68, today it’s 82. I might be cramming several pairs of boots all together fairly soon…because although like these, not all my boots can or should be worn with a dress. These suede wedge boots have been around the block a bit. The wedge heel, although narrow, makes them exceedingly easy to walk in, as does the round toe. I like the buckle detail on the side as well, it sort of resembles a stirrup. I can wear them over skinnies, but they do look better with skirts or dresses. Another pair that I’m certain there’s nothing wrong with, but will they last through another fall and winter season? That is the question!

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Winter 06/07

Circumstances: I have a yearly boot-purchasing ritual. It’s usually intended to be a one new pair a year ritual that inevitably turns into a 2 or even 3 new pairs a year reality. I remember this particular year was the beginnning of the jeans being tucked into boots phenomenon. I wanted a pair to start wearing over my ‘not quite yet skinny’ jeans. I happened upon these at Ann Taylor Loft, surprisingly enough…and being that I was in ATL, I was probably with Lori, my coworker/committed shopping partner, first mentioned in my leopard print heel post. For whatever reason, they did not sell well at ATL and were on sale…for $35. Ridiculous! So I purchased and happily began a new era in boot wearing. A solid purchase then, but solid enough to stand up to our challenge?

Compliment Meter: 3. Fairly solid response, worked well with my dress.

Comfort: Comfortable wedge, round toe, fits my calf well. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Lavendar knit dress from Anthropologie (one of my favs) and gauzy cream and brown thin striped scarf.

Thoughts: See a shoe and pick it up and all day long you’ll have good luck.” -Andy Warhol

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 8: Suede Boots at PAIR DIEM.

meta

