Day 7: Mad for Textures

March 4, 2009 § 1 Comment

Tweed Flats With a Sweet Patent Buckle

Tweed Flats With a Sweet Patent Buckle

One thing I love: textures. I love textured fabrics and accessories and love textures mixed with prints. I’m a huge fan of plaid, check, pinstripes, herringbone (as seen here), especially when mixed with a tactile fabric like tweed. These sweet flats have served me well for at least 2 years I think, when wool patterned flats were a focus of fall shoes. Their rubber sole makes them extremely comfortable and the black/white herringbone is a neutral I can wear with anything.  However, since they are a tweed, they are limited by seasons and here in Dallas cannot be worn for very long before the temperatures start to climb. Flats are a staple of the girly prep wardrobe, especially in a herringbone, and I admit I do attach to them! The thought enters my mind, though…are they a bit young? They are cute to be sure, and I love a touch of patent, but are they classic enough to stick around? Or do I just move on to more exciting pastures. If it’s not to die for, is it worth keeping? hmmm…

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the shoes has yet to be determined.

Date of Purchase: Winter 06/07

Circumstances: I cannot recall the exact circumstances surrounding the purchase of these cuties. I know at the time I was a bit obsessed with the wool patterned flats seen everywhere, particularly J. Crew, and wanted, tweed, metallic, herringbone, and glen plaid in all colors….with which to adorn my feet. The round toe ballet flats were a welcome alternative to the pointy-toe boot, being much more forgiving on the feet. A litte something of interest to be worn with casual jeans and a cardi without being terribly boring.

Compliment Meter: 1/2. I give it a 1/2 because it was a mild compliment, lacking enthusiasm…as in ‘those are pretty cute.’

Comfort: They have stretched a bit and my heel slips out, but the sole is comfortable. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Black 3/4 sleeve tunic with a multi-colored placket/bib, dark skinny jeans. Simple.

Thoughts: I don’t want to feel a shoe; I want the shoe to become part of me.” -Ballerina Leslie Browne

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ One Response to Day 7: Mad for Textures

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 7: Mad for Textures at PAIR DIEM.

meta

