Day 5: How Many Black Heels Does a Girl Need?

March 3, 2009 § Leave a comment

The first of many black heels

The first of many black heels

Back to the pain for day 5. Well actually, these staple heels aren’t uncomfortable at all.  They’re a great matte black calfskin with an almond toe and dainty but not delicate heel…not too shiny, not too pointy. They got me through the first ‘non-tights skirt day’ of 2009, too. The question is, how many pairs of black heels does a girl need? As many as it takes, I say. This is the first of several pairs to emerge from the closet. You’ll have to weigh in on how many of them I keep.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the ancient manuscript has never been determined.

Date of Purchase: Fall 2007

Circumstances: Another sisterly bonding story. I was in Cincinnati visiting my other older sister Rebecca ( I am the middle of 5 girls). Whenever I visit her, we make a special trip to a giant shopping extravaganza…the Banana/Gap outlet warehouse. They have a distribution center outside of Cincinnati where all the extra merchandise is clearanced out. It’s a giant building with concrete floors and racks upon racks upon racks of clothing and accessories. It’s a giant scavenger hunt. Many of the items are damaged so it’s a lot of work….but the deals can be had if you’re patient. We usually have to bring a snack so we don’t pass out half way through the endeavor. I inevitably last longer than my sister, as is the case with all of my sisters, and she’ll take a seat waiting for me to finish combing every last item. Then, as any good sister would do, gives me the objective yes/no on each item I’m trying on…no matter how many. So as I was scavenging the rows of accessories, having no luck whatsoever…miss matched sandals here, damaged ones there, ‘so two years ago’ style over all over, I spotted these heels. By themselves, never been worn, neatly on the rack…one pair only. In my size. They called to me and I answered. And snatched them up for $25.

Compliment Meter: 2. Nothing to write home about, but I can’t live without black heels.

Comfort: No complaints…for heels. Overall, an 8 out of 10.

Worn with: Black v-neck cotton sweater, floral skirt with pleats. Simply ladylike.

Thoughts: You put high heels on and you change.” -Manolo Blahnik

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 5: How Many Black Heels Does a Girl Need? at PAIR DIEM.

meta

