Day 3: Shabootie

February 26, 2009 § 3 Comments

shoe-boot, ankleboot, shootie...take your pick

shoe-boot, ankleboot, shootie...take your pick

The Shootie. Quite the fashion staple of Fall 08. I wasn’t convinced at first…well I wasn’t convinced of the shootie on ME at first. Yes they are a bit elf-ish…and yes if I were wearing them with cropped knickersI would look like a leprechaun. Good thing I don’t have cropped knickers.  Well these lovelies were picked up just before the pair diem challenge began, the day before actually. I had a shoe-binge day and decided to take a chance on these. What I really like about the is the color of the leather and that I think with scuffs and breaking in they’ll have even more character. Oh and that lovely leather knot on the side? Removeable!

prov⋅e⋅nance

[provuh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun

place or source of origin: The provenance of the ancient manuscript has never been determined.

Date of Purchase: February 2009

Circumstances: I was playing hooky from work. Ok actually, I took a vacation day because I was about to lose several days since our vacation days do not roll over. It was a beautiful sunny 70 degree day and I was running errands all over Dallas. I had 3 bags of clothes and a bag of shoes (that didn’t even make it into our lovely shoe challenge) to take to Buffalo Exchange, a local resale shop I frequent. I fully intended on selling back my gently used clothing, taking the cash and leaving. BUT I inevitably shopped around while they sorted through my piles and ended up trying on an armful of clothes and these Jeffrey Campbell shoes…brand new, never worn. I didn’t have much sucess with the clothes, but did walk out with the shooties, a pink J. Crew oxford with blue striping, an adorable navy vintage blazer with an apple print….and $50 in cash. Success.

Compliment Meter: Approximately 4. Very positive feedback. Funniest comment of the day: ‘They look like they’re made out of chocolate.’ – Keri

Comfort: The round toe is comfortable as is the soft leather. The heel height is around 3-3.25.” Overall, a 7 out of 10.

Worn with: Blue v-neck heathered T, long grey cardi with 3/4 sleeves, skinny jeans, cream/brown striped scarf.

Thoughts: “Give a girl the correct footwear, and she can conquer the world.”Bette Midler

The question is, are these world-domination worthy?

Do these babies stay in the rotation or get dumped into the Shoe Graveyard?

§ 3 Responses to Day 3: Shabootie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 3: Shabootie at PAIR DIEM.

meta

