Sucker for Stripes

August 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Striped wedges and boyfriend chinos. Relaxed Friday.

As the rest of humanity is shopping fall the temperatures are well above 100 in Dallas, and so I stick to my warm-weather guns: Cotton. Wedges. Stripes. I am addicted to stripes, particularly navy and white stripes. I know the navy/white stripe trend was big this summer so my love may seem blasé, but I’ve been addicted for years. I remember a pair of navy and white striped wide leg pants with a rope belt I bought in high school and adored. It’s almost embarrassing how many striped tops and dresses I own…but not embarrassing enough to entice me to stop buying them, it seems. Example: this pair of girlie, striped espadrilles by Audrey Brooke. One of my favorite things about summer is wedge espadrilles; they are comfortable, cute and often colorful. These are very practical by heel height standards; I wouldn’t have minded if they were a good 1-2 inches taller, but I’m still a fan. The touch of pattern adds some interest to a solid color-blocked outfit or mixed with critter shorts and a seersucker top.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Summer 2011

Circumstances: I spotted these shoes at DSW a few months ago and was not immediately sold on them. After a few weeks and after putting on several summer outfits thinking, “those striped espadrilles would be perfect with this” I decided to make a return visit. I snaked the rows looking for them, only to find them in red. No, not for me. I headed to the clearance racks and had no luck in my size either. As per usual I perused a half size larger and a half size smaller since you never know with shoe sizing. I found these and a cute pair of very similar, but plaid, espadrilles. The stripes were more versatile, even though the plaid had a higher heel, and surprisingly fit although they were a full size smaller. Strange, but I’ll take it!

Comfort: Espadrilles usually have some give which help in shock-absorbtion as do these. Mid-height heel, ribbon ankle strap = all day comfort. Overall 9 out of 10.

Worn with: Navy and red striped T from Rugby, ‘boyfriend’ khakis also from Rugby, Kiel James Patrick rope belt.

Compliment meter: 3. More than one person commented on them and my love for all things striped.

Thoughts: “Once you accept the universe as being something expanding into infinite nothing which is something, wearing stripes with plaid is easy.” ~Albert Einstein

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sucker for Stripes at PAIR DIEM.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

