Everything’s Gonna Be All White

August 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Simplicity is the spice of life. Maybe that isn’t the exact quote but it works in my world. I like variety in many things (food, music, movies, lipstick) but as a matter of longevity, simplicity always wins. There’s always something to be said for a LBD, a simple melody, a string of pearls, a line of prose, a pb & j. And then there’s a clean white sneaker—the simplest and purest incarnation of casual summer footwear. I love a clean white sneaker, unisex, uncomplicated, sleek.

Jack Purcell

Classic Keds with a cute jute bottom

Sperry 75th Anniversary CVO

Tretorn Nylites

Superga 2750

I’ve always been partial to classic Jack Purcells but this year I’ve been looking elsewhere. Keds are an obvious choice; they pioneered the canvas upper shoe in the early 20th century. Several other solid options have been floating around. For those partial to a thicker sole, plimsoll’s are a good choice, and I like the pairs Sperry is carrying. Tretorn Nylites are quite the in shoe this summer, with a style blogger dedicated Tumbler, no less. K-Swiss teamed up with Billy Reid. J. Crew carries weathered Jack Purcells. Then there’s Superga, an Italian brand that somehow slipped my mind. They started creating canvas shoes for tennis in the early 20th century across the pond. Their European simplicity and slim profile is high on my list.

My shopping may seem late in the season, but in Dallas it’s summer straight into October. Besides I’m always a fan of late season deals. I’ll be ordering a couple of pairs of the above brands to see what strikes my fancy and let you all know. Simple as that.

“Only great minds can afford a simple style.” ~Stendhal

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Everything’s Gonna Be All White at PAIR DIEM.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

