Dancing Dreams

August 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

Flat out fabulous

If I could have any talent in the world, it would be possessing a killer singing voice, even though I likely wouldn’t be a singer as a profession. What I really wanted to be, however, was a ballerina. Typical little-girl dream right? Swan Lake apparently wasn’t in the cards, but my love for ballet-related fashion  and shoes never ceased (soft pink and black, floaty fabrics, high buns). This Joan and David nude pink patent pair with pale grey/taupe stitching, cap toe and bow are a perfect amalgamation of sweet and classic, and were too perfect to pass up. I tent to steer clear of patent in the summer, but the pale color can be worn with anything from ankle-length denim to flowy skirts. The nude color helps elongate the leg, which is always a good thing, particularly when wearing flats. They’ve become one of my default pairs and will likely be my partner far into the fall.

prov⋅e⋅nance

[prov-uh-nuhns, -nahns] –noun; place or source of origin.

Date of Purchase: Spring 2011

Circumstances: I realized how tardy I was writing about these shoes when I had to recall the story. I bought them way back in February on a memorable evening. Memorable because it was Mardi Gras, Fat Tuesday. And for me, that means a night of good eating and shopping. For the past few years I have given up shopping for Lent. It may seem silly, but I find it a good way to detach from  material things (as much as I like things, especially pretty pink patent things). So, I met a good friend Vee for dinner and some possible shopping at the mall. I dislike malls but on an evening such as this, it presented the highest quantity of shops in the smallest distance. I walked through Nordstom on the way to meet her and spied the so-dangerous sale racks just waiting for me. I wove my way in and out of the aisles, my eyes systematically scanning the racks like a speed reader. I was in a bit of a hurry so I grabbed a few pairs that had promise and tried them on. These flats fit perfectly with no awkward rubbing as many flats tend to do. The first of many Fat Tuesday shopping successes.

Comfort: No rubbing, no blisters, nice padding. Can’t argue with that. Overall: 10 out of 10.

Compliment Meter: 3. A few nice remarks from close girlfriends. Gents rarely comment on flats, in my experience.

Worn with: Ivory silk blouse from Zara, green military skinny pants from J. Crew, and an arm party.

Thoughts: “Fashion wasn’t what you wore someplace anymore; it was the whole reason for going.”~ Andy Warhol

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Dancing Dreams

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dancing Dreams at PAIR DIEM.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

