Brogues Abound

February 3, 2010 § 6 Comments

I previously posted my relatively new affinity for brogues, the menswear-inspired oxfords seen practically everywhere. I originally had my heart set on a pair from Church’s, gorgeous leather, handmade in England, the whole nine. Then I found out about another British outfitter, Selve, offering custom brogues, with occasional fittings in the states. (You can see the fabulous pair style blogger Liberty London Girl bought here) I mean, really, it doesn’t get much more perfect than a custom shoe, designed by the wearer? Well it does if said custom shoe is actually affordable. Unfortunately, it is not. As my desire for brogues has not, and honestly, will not abate, I’m still moderately stalking a Ralph Lauren pair and continue to scour Yoox, finding a few tempting pairs but nothing that has prompted me to pull the trigger. I am a persistent but thoroughly patient shopper.

J.Crew's latest brogue offering

 

Then, I received the latest spring J. Crew catalog and a new pair hit the radar: the Camden leather brogues.  I will have to inspect them in person, naturally, as the sole, roundness of the toe and the height of the vamp are extremely important when it comes to oxfords. If the toe is too pointed, the vamp too low and the sole too dainty it becomes more of a jazz shoe. I lean more towards the rounded almond toe and construction of a true mens oxford; classic and a bit tomboyish. On the model, deftly styled with shorts and skirts, they become more tempting. Offered with wingtip details in waxed napa and nubuck in black, nutmeg and a neutral called light ginger, they’re begging for a closer look. Count on a report soon.

Thoughts: “A woman carries her clothes, but it’s a shoe that carries a woman.” ~Christian Louboutin

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Brogues Abound

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brogues Abound at PAIR DIEM.

meta