Special Edition: Battle of the Gels

April 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

As I have stated in many of my shoe posts thus far, I rely on inserts in several pairs of my shoes. Sometimes they’re simply an added comfort, other times they are so necessary the shoes are virtually unwearable without them. Thus I want to dedicate a post to something that keeps several pairs of shoes in my rotation: the gel insert.

Now I have tried several different kinds and brands of inserts over the years. The cloth-covered insert, the partial insert, the full foot foam insert that you have to trim down to your size for your shoe (by they way, these are the worst and so much work!), the heel insert, the ball of the foot insert…you name it, I’ve tried it.

Gel Steppies by Apara

Gel Steppies by Apara

¬†After a lot of trial and foot pain, I found an insert that I really liked, by ¬†Apara, called ‘Steppies’ first purchased at DSW.

Since most of my shoes are heels, I realized only only need the cushion at the ball of my foot. These fit easily in the shoe, have adhesive to keep them in place, and can be removed easily as well. I have several pairs and have made trips to DSW just to buy them.

I tried another pair recently when I was having a severe heel hangover. I knew I needed some relief, but flats were out of the question. I ran to CVS to find something that would make due, as I couldn’t make it to DSW.

Dr. Scholls for Her

Dr. Scholl's for Her

I rounded the footcare aisle and reached for trusty Dr. Scholl’s. These looked like they would do. I slid them into my shoes and instant comfort. The wavy massaging texture was super comfy and they fit easily in my shoe. I will way, these have an advantage over the Apara Steppies. They are thinner and don’t take up as much room in your shoe, but give just as much relief.

True, we all suffer for fashion, and sometimes that’s just necessary. Other times, if we can invisibly alleviate some of that suffering, I’m all for it. I mean, God forbid we buy sensible shoes. At least until we’re 80. Maybe 90. Hopefully these products will save a few pairs of your own from being buried in the shoe graveyard. Happy stepping.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Special Edition: Battle of the Gels at PAIR DIEM.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

